BOX Whisky

"Like every good story, ours begins in a place ‘far, far away’. More precisely in the remote, north of Sweden. In this rugged landscape, on the shores of the mighty Ångermanälven river, you’ll find the Box Distillery. Fed by the rivers’ crystal clear, chilled water, the distillery experiences wide temperature variations on a daily and yearly scale – temperature variations that ensure that the whisky goes through a unique savouring process as it matures. These qualities lend the Box Single Malt a singular character – character that is enhanced by a traditional distilling method that takes no shortcuts and makes no compromises.

Making whisky in the Ådalen area has its advantages. It’s not only the untouched nature of the northern parts of Sweden that makes the whisky unique, even though the dense forests, wide open spaces and clean air definitely adds to the character. The seminal difference actually stems from our geographical location. In the north of Sweden, the temperature variations – between summer and winter, between day and night – are nothing short of dramatic. The constant changing of the seasons affect the evolution of the raw spirits in the warehouse casks. On warm days, the pressure in the casks builds and the liquor expands, penetrating the wooden oak. Deep inside the wood, flavours are released - flavours that will stay with the maturing spirits when the temperature falls and the pressure drops. The harsh northern climate is truly one of our best friends.

The mighty Ångermanälven river flows by our very doorstep. For thousands of years it’s been at the centre of life for people living in the valley. Each second, almost 500,000 litres of ice-cold mountain river water flows by, just outside our windows. To us, as whisky producers, the river is an essential natural resource. The amount of cooling water is an extremely important part in our search for distillates with personality and character. To be able to cool the alcohol in the most effective way is intimately connected with the chances of creating a distillate with a standout personality and clean, fine flavour. During a large portion of the year, the water temperature of the Ångermanälven river is no more than a few degrees over zero and even during the summer months, only the feistiest of outdoorsmen dare go for a chilly swim.


At the Box Distillery we have a collective, important driving force that guides us: We want to create a world-class single malt whisky. Whisky production is principally a traditional craft; many whisky distilleries are quite similar, but still, despite this, every whisky is unique. At Box we do as everyone else does, but still choose our own path. We’ve let ourselves be guided by the work of other distilleries, but we’ve also developed our own methods to create single malt like no other."

The beautiful location, the friendly and open minded people, the stunning quality and the passion about t Whisky have convinced us at our visit at the distillery in 2016. That ist the reason why we are the exclusive german impotreur for Box Whisky.

  1. Box - The 2nd Step 02 - 51,2%

    The second bottling of the 2nd Step Collection of Box Whisky. The series is supposed to have six bottlings, that will be available during the next two years.
    €86.90
    Incl. 19% Tax

    Delivery Time: 3-4 days to Germany, 5-7 days to other countries

    (Baseprice=€173.80 / 1.0 L)

    Availability: Out of stock

  2. Box - Early Days Batch 002 - 51,5%

    Early Days Batch 2 is the second bottling that is only available in the international market. It's a Blend out of peated and non-peated whiskies, all coming from Bourbon Casks.
    €89.90
    Incl. 19% Tax

    Delivery Time: 3-4 days to Germany, 5-7 days to other countries

    (Baseprice=€179.80 / 1.0 L)

    Availability: Out of stock

  3. Box - The Explorer - 48,3%

    60% of the Explorer exists out of peated whisky, which gives it its smokey character. It was maturing in Bourbon Casks most of the time.
    €74.90
    Incl. 19% Tax

    Delivery Time: 3-4 days to Germany, 5-7 days to other countries

    (Baseprice=€149.80 / 1.0 L)

    Availability: Out of stock

  4. Box - The 2nd Step 03 - 51,3%

    The third and last edition in The 2nd Step Collection is a peaty vatting of bourbon casks and casks of American and Hungarian virgin oak. It is a whisky in classic Islay style with a spicy edge of (...) Learn More
    €69.90
    Incl. 19% Tax

    Delivery Time: 3-4 days to Germany, 5-7 days to other countries

    (Baseprice=€139.80 / 1.0 L)

    Availability: In stock

  5. Box - Dálvve - Batch 04 - 46,0%

    Box Dálvve - Batch 04 - the Signature Malt The 7th November 2016 represents a mile stone in the history of Box Distillery. On this day there was published the first "core Range" (...) Learn More
    €49.90
    Incl. 19% Tax

    Delivery Time: 3-4 days to Germany, 5-7 days to other countries

    (Baseprice=€71.29 / 1.0 L)

    Availability: In stock

  6. Box - Quercus I - Robur - 50,8%

    Quercus is a range of bottlings from Box distillery which trys to explore what kind of influence different casks have to the whisky. The first edition ic called Robur, named after the european oak (...) Learn More
    €79.90
    Incl. 19% Tax

    Delivery Time: 3-4 days to Germany, 5-7 days to other countries

    (Baseprice=€159.80 / 1.0 L)

    Availability: In stock

BOX Whisky

"Wie jede gute Geschichte begann unsere an einem Ort weit weg. Genauer gesagt ganz oben im Norden von Schweden. In dieser wilden Landschaft am Ufer des mächtigen Flusses Ångermanälven liegt die Box Distillery. Gespeist vom kristallklaren kalten Wasser des Flusses ist die Brennerei ganzjährig Tag für Tag starken Temperaturschwankungen ausgesetzt, und genau diese verleihen dem Whisky im Verlauf seines Reifeprozesses einen ganz besonderen Geschmack. Dadurch erhält der Box Single Malt seinen speziellen Charakter - einen Charakter, der durch eine traditionelle Destilliermethode ohne Schnellverfahren und Kompromisse noch verstärkt wird.
Whisky in der Ådalen-Region zu produzieren hat seine Vorteile. Es ist nicht nur die unberührte Natur Nordschwedens die dem Whisky seinen einzigartigen Charakter verleiht, auch wenn die dichten Wälder, die offenen Landschaften und die saubere Luft definitiv ihren Beitrag dazu leisten. Tatsächlich ist es unsere geografische Lage die den Unterschied ausmacht. Im Norden Schwdens sind die Temperaturunterschiede zwischen Sommer und Winter und zwischen Tag und Nacht gewaltig. Die ständigen Witterungsschwankungen beeinflussen die Entwicklung des Rohbrandes in den Lagerfässern. An warmen Tagen baut sich der Druck in den Fässern auf und der expandierte Alkohol dringt in das Eichenholz ein. Tief im Holz werden Aromen freigesetzt, die auch bei sinkender Temperatur und abfallendem Druck im reifenden Brand verbleiben. Das raue Klima des Nordens ist deshalb unser bester Freund.
Den gewaltigen Ångermanälven haben wir buchstäblich vor unserer Tür. Vor Tausenden von Jahren war der Fluss die Lebensader für die Menschen, die in deisem Tal lebten. Pro Sekunde rauschen 500.000 Liter eiskaltes Gebirgswasser an unseren Fenstern vorbei. Für uns als Whiskyproduzenten ist der Fluss eine wichtige Naturressource. DIe Menge an Kühlwasser ist ein entscheidender Faktor bei unserer Suche nach Destillaten mit individueller Note und Charakter. Den Alkohol auf so effiziente Weise kühlen zu können, ist eine wesentliche Voraussetzung für die Schaffung eines Destillates mit herausragender Persönlichkeit und einem reinen feinen Geschmack. Ein Großteil des Jahres beträgt die Wassertemperatur des Ångermanälven nur wenige Grad über Null und auch im Sommer wagen sich nur die Hartgesottenen in den Fluss für ein kühlendes Bad."
Bei BOX Distillery haben wir einen Leitsatz an dem wir uns alle orientieren: Wir wollen einen Single Malt Whisky der Spitzenklasse schaffen. Die Whiskyproduktion ist grundsätzlich ein traditionelles Handwerk. Viele Whiskybrennereien arbeiten auf ähnliche Weise und dennoch ist jeder Whisky einzigartig. Bei BOX machen wir es genauso wie alle anderen, wählen aber trotzdem unseren eigenen Weg. Wir haben uns zwar von der Arbeit anderer Brennereien leiten lassen, dabei jedoch unsere eigenen Methoden zur Schaffung eines ganz persönlichen Single Malts entwickelt."

Die traumhaft gelegene Brennerei, die außerordentlich offenen und freundlichen Mitarbeiter, die überragende Qualität und die Leidenschaft rund um das Thema Whisky haben uns im Rahmen eines Besuches der Distillery so überzeugt, dass wir seit einiger Zeit der exklusive Importeur für den deutschen Markt sind. Dementsprechend finden Sie alle aktuellen Abfüllungen für den deutschen Markt in unserem Sortiment. Sollten Sie selbst Whiskyhändler sein oder der Whiskyhändler Ihres Vertrauens den Box Whisky noch nicht im Sortiment haben zögern Sie nicht uns zu kontaktieren.

  1. Box - The 2nd Step 02 - 51,2%

    Die zweite Abfüllung aus der 2nd Step Collection von Box Whisky. In der Serie sollen insgesamt 6 Abfüllungen in den nächsten 2 Jahren herausgebracht werden.
    86,90 €
    Inkl. 19% USt.

    Lieferzeit: 3-4 Tage innerhalb Deutschlands, 5-7 Tage im Ausland

    (Basispreis=173,80 € / 1.0 L)

    Verfügbarkeit: Nicht auf Lager

  2. Box - Early Days Batch 002 - 51,5%

    Early Days Batch 2 ist die zweite Abfüllung ausschließlich für den internationalen Markt. Ein Blend aus getorften und ungetorften Whiskys, allesamt aus Bourbon Fässern.
    89,90 €
    Inkl. 19% USt.

    Lieferzeit: 3-4 Tage innerhalb Deutschlands, 5-7 Tage im Ausland

    (Basispreis=179,80 € / 1.0 L)

    Verfügbarkeit: Nicht auf Lager

  3. Box - The Explorer - 48,3%

    60% des Explorer besteht aus getorftem Whisky, daher sein rauchiger Charakter. Gelagert wurde er zum größten Teil in Bourbon Fässern.
    74,90 €
    Inkl. 19% USt.

    Lieferzeit: 3-4 Tage innerhalb Deutschlands, 5-7 Tage im Ausland

    (Basispreis=149,80 € / 1.0 L)

    Verfügbarkeit: Nicht auf Lager

  4. Box - The 2nd Step 03 - 51,3%

    Bei der dritten Abfüllung aus der 2nd Step Collection von Box Whisky handelt es sich um ein torfiges Vatting aus Bourbon Casks und amerikanischen und ungarischen Virgin Oak Caks. Vom Stil her (...) Mehr erfahren
    69,90 €
    Inkl. 19% USt.

    Lieferzeit: 3-4 Tage innerhalb Deutschlands, 5-7 Tage im Ausland

    (Basispreis=139,80 € / 1.0 L)

    Verfügbarkeit: Auf Lager

  5. Box - Dálvve - Batch 04 - 46,0%

    Box Dálvve - Batch 04 Der 7. November 2016 repräsentiert einen Meilenstein in der Geschichte der Box Distillery. An diesem Tag wurde der erste Whisky der "core Range" auf den Markt (...) Mehr erfahren
    49,90 €
    Inkl. 19% USt.

    Lieferzeit: 3-4 Tage innerhalb Deutschlands, 5-7 Tage im Ausland

    (Basispreis=71,29 € / 1.0 L)

    Verfügbarkeit: Auf Lager

  6. Box - Quercus I - Robur - 50,8%

    Quercus ist eine Range der Box Distillery mit der versucht wird zu erkunden, welche Aromen verschiedene Arten von Fässern dem Whisky geben. Die erste Edition trägt den Namen ROBUR, (...) Mehr erfahren
    79,90 €
    Inkl. 19% USt.

    Lieferzeit: 3-4 Tage innerhalb Deutschlands, 5-7 Tage im Ausland

    (Basispreis=159,80 € / 1.0 L)

    Verfügbarkeit: Auf Lager